The LAURC Covenant

Since 2011, the Anglican Diocese of Qu’Appelle and the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Regina have shared a covenant which continues to call us to “a new stage in jointly building up the body of Christ in our dioceses.” Certainly, our covenantal relationship is not our only ecumenical or ecclesial relationship. Our partnerships in local ministerials, regional ecumenical projects, interchurch coalitions, councils of churches, and shared ministries have contributed to a rich ecumenical life across Saskatchewan. We are therefore enthused to incorporate the Anglican and Roman Catholic dioceses of central and northern Saskatchewan within the covenant.

The Anglican Church of Canada and the Evangelical Lutheran Church in Canada have been full communion partners since 2001. The full communion between the Ukrainian Catholic and the Roman Catholic churches occurred in 1595 and has seen a renaissance in mutual sharing and learning since Vatican II and the end of the Soviet occupation of Ukraine. The 2011 Anglican-Roman Catholic covenant envisioned a time when the Lutheran and Ukrainian Catholic communities would join us in this renewed covenant. Now is the opportune time to broaden our covenantal promises and to invite our communion partners to share together in work for visible unity.

In April 2020, the ten bishops of Saskatchewan, including all three Anglican dioceses, the four Roman Catholic dioceses, the ELCIC Saskatchewan Synod, and the Ukrainian Catholic Eparchy of Saskatoon, signed the covenant. For many years, the bishops of our four churches have met at least twice per year to discuss matters of common interest. The gathering has been called the LAURC bishops. The new covenant has therefore been dubbed the LAURC Covenant.

"We give our thanks to God, Father, Son and Holy Spirit, for the gifts we have received and which we have come to recognize in each other, for the joy we have come to know in our life in Jesus Christ, and for the renewed and life-giving relationship which has come to us from the Holy Spirit. To God be the glory, in the Church and in Christ Jesus to all generations, forever and ever. Amen (Ephesians 3:21)."



Page URL: