Printer-friendly version

The Saskatchewan Catholic School Board Association presented three Appreciation awards to individuals who have made significant contributions to Catholic Education over their lengthy years of service.

Bernadette Cey spent 15 years in Catholic education as a teacher from Grades one to high school. During those years she also coordinated Sacramental Preparation, parent meetings, and Eucharist celebrations. She has served as Religious Education Consultant with Holy Trinity Catholic School Division, Moose Jaw.

Prince Albert Bishop Albert Thevenot is the bishop in charge of Catholic Education in Saskatchewan.  He is a trained teacher who spent many years in the classroom and he has accumulated many interesting experiences, especially while teaching in Africa, that have heavily influenced him in becoming an exceptional leader in education.

Bruno Tuchscherer became a Catholic School Board Trustee in 1988 and has served for 29 years. Since 2004 he has served as Board Chair.   He spent many hours involved in the formation of the Holy Family Catholic School Division located in Weyburn in 2004. This was accomplished through amalgamation of several rural Catholic school divisions, including the Weyburn, Estevan, and St. Olivier School in Radville.  Three years later, in 2006, the Division boundaries were expanded to include Queen Elizabeth and Spruce Ridge Catholic School Divisions, and St. Augustine in Wilcox joined the Division in 2009.

Bud Bohun of North Battleford was awarded the Julian Paslawski Meritorious Award for his more than 50 years in Catholic education first as teacher and school-based administrator, then as school board trustee since 1992. He retired in 2016 after 24 years as trustee. Julian Paslawski* was present for the award presentation.

CHAS presented its Mission Award to the Mont St. Joseph Team of Prince Albert. The team members are: Lorrie Kaglea, Director of Financial, Information and Business Services.  She has served at Mont St. Joseph in various capacities for 28 years; Joan Byrne is Director of Environmental services and leads the housekeeping, laundry and dietary teams. She has been with Mont St. Joseph for 31 years; Shannon Meyers is Director of Volunteers and Recreation Services.  She is the leader and facilitator of more than 300 registered volunteers.  She has 28 years of service including Mont St. Joseph Care Home, Holy Family Hospital, The Sisters Presentation of Mary, and the Sisters of Our Lady of the Cross.

Bert Yakichuk of Regina was presented with a CHAS Honourary Membership.  He first became involved with Catholic Health care when he joined the Board of Santa Maria Care Home in Regina and became its Chair in 2005-2009. He was elected to the CHAS Board in 2005 and served as a board member until 2013. He was Vice Chair in 2009 and Chair in 2010. He was Co-Chair of the planning committee for the first ever joint convention of CHAS and SCSBA.

*Julian Paslawski has served in many capacities in Catholic education for more than 50 years. He began as a teacher at St. Joseph School in Rosetown in 1954 and progressed to superintendent of education for Catholic schools in Saskatoon. In 1988 he became Executive Director for the Catholic Section of the Saskatchewan School Boards Association, a position he held until his retirement in 2007. As well as facilitating the amalgamation of Catholic school divisions in Saskatchewan from more than 20 to the present eight divisions, he was instrumental in coordinating the development of the Catholic Section into a legal entity, now known as SCSBA. He is known as being the watchdog for Catholic education in Saskatchewan and his exceptional contributions were recognized in a formal manner when the SCSBA named the provincial Meritorious Service Award for Catholic Education the Julian Paslawski Meritorious Service Award. This award has been presented since 1982, with Julian Paslawski himself receiving the award in 1998.